Eating Last

Leadership is about making people feel safe. When someone feels heard, they feel safe.. Leaders will sacrifice for you and expect nothing in return. – Simon Sinek

If you have not read Simon Sinek’s new book Leaders Eat Last, or at the very least have watched him talk about it here, then I implore you to do so. Below is how it’s changed my life on a professional level.

Leadership is about making people feel safe. When someone feels heard, they feel safe.. Leaders will sacrifice for you and expect nothing in return. – Simon Sinek

 

Leaders get the adornments of what a fancy leadership title brings, but it comes at a cost. The cost for me has been accountability, and providing safety. If our team does not hit our goal, it’s on me. If my team is going out on a limb in our company and trying a new project and that project falls flat, that is on me. If someone, no matter how often they speak up, talks to me, it’s my honor to genuinely listen, and acknowledge them.

Once I embraced this concept and dove in head first, our team has grown together and overall it’s been outstanding. I treat my team as if their livelihood is my responsibility. Their personal development, duties, and then the outcome of their execution is on me. Their need to feel safe, is my honor.

It’s about providing those who I care deeply about, my team, a space. To open up, to share, to leap, and to fail. Do yourself the honor of eating last, and you will see wonders.