How I Found Happiness

Happiness is the joy you feel while striving toward your potential.

What does happiness mean to you? Let me share what I’ve come to learn what happiness means to me. Thanks to Shawn Achor, my definition of happiness comes from how the ancient Greeks viewed happiness.

Happiness is the joy you feel while striving toward your potential.

Taking that definition of happiness to heart has changed everything for me. Through being self aware and realizing some of my main strengths are positivity, seeing and building other’s strengths, and being strategic, I’ve tripled down on those strengths and that’s made all the difference.  For me, knowing my strengths and tripling down on my strengths is how I move toward my potential. Knowing I’m doing that brings joy and happiness. How can it not?

Knowing that I am ultimately on the path towards achieving my potential, and realizing that I’m in it for the long haul and need to then execute patience brings joy to my heart. I feel happy!

If you’re unclear on what your potential is, I’d challenge you to find out your strengths by doing a StrengthsFinder test. If you’re already aware of what your strengths are, then realize that by focusing on your strengths can help you move toward your potential.

Feel the joy by striving toward your potential and enjoy the happiness that comes with that process.